WESTPORT — Here’s a checklist for today’s municipal election:

Red check mark

WHEN: Voting takes place from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. (Any eligible voter standing in line to cast a ballot as of 8 p.m. is allowed to vote.)

Blue check mark

WHO: 21,1551 registered voters are eligible to cast ballots in Westport — 9,218 Democrats, 3,946 Republicans, 8,195 unaffiliated and 192 other political affiliations. 

Same-day registration of new voters will take place from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Town Hall, 110 Myrtle Ave.

Voters can check their registration status by using the “LOOKUP TOOL” on the Secretary of the State’s website.

Absentee ballots must be must be returned to the Town Clerk’s Office in Town Hall no later than 8 p.m. Tuesday to be counted in election totals.

Write-in votes, to be counted, should have the candidate’s name written in the box for the appropriate office, as well as the “bubble” filled in.

Red check mark

WHERE: Five polling stations

  • Districts 1 and 2: Saugatuck Elementary School, 170 Riverside Ave.
  • Districts 3 and 8: Coleytown Middle School, 255 North Ave.
  • Districts 4 and 5: Greens Farms Elementary School, 17 Morningside Side Drive South.
  • Districts 6 and 7: Long Lots Elementary School, 13 Hyde Lane.
  • District 9: Westport Library, 20 Jesup Road.

To see a map of the town’s nine voting districts, which correspond to Representative Town Meeting districts, click here.

Voters unsure of where to vote can check via  the “LOOKUP TOOL” on the Secretary of the State’s website.

Voters with questions about the accessibility of polling stations and voting machines, can click here for information.

Blue check mark

WHAT: Voters will cast ballots for five townwide boards and commissions, and, by district, for all 36 members of the Representative Town Meeting. 

As listed on today’s ballot, those races are:

  • Board of Finance: Candidates are Democrats Jeffrey Hammer, incumbent, and Danielle Dobin, currently the Planning and Zoning Commission chairwoman, and Republicans Perry Winter, an incumbent; Liz Heyer, currently the Board of Education vice chairwoman, and Rich Hightower.

Four of the five candidates will be elected. The term of office is four years.

  • Board of Education: Candidates are Democratic incumbents Lee Goldstein and Neil Phillips; Republicans Camilo Riano and Jamie Fitzgerald, and write-in contender Jill Dillon.

Three of the five candidates will be elected.

  • Board of Assessment Appeals: Republican incumbent Joseph Sledge is the lone candidate.

One candidate will be elected. The term is for four years.

  • Planning and Zoning Commission: Candidates are Paul Lebowitz, an incumbent who has Democrats’ endorsement; Republicans Amie Tesler, Patrizia Zucaro and John Bolton, all incumbents, and Michael Calise, and for the Coalition for Westport, Joseph Strickland Jr.

Four of the six candidates will be elected. The term is for four years.

  • Zoning Board of Appeals: Candidates are Democrat Jim Ezzes, and Republicans Michelle Hopson and Liz Wong. All three are incumbents.

Three candidates will be elected. The term is four years.

  • Representative Town Meeting: Four candidates will be elected in each of the legislative body’s nine districts. Competitive races are set in Districts 1, 2, 6 and 9, where more than four candidates are running for the four allotted seats.

To see the candidate lineup in each of the RTM districts, check the “Sample Ballots” listings on the town’s website.

Red check mark

For questions, contact the Registrars of Voters Office at 203-341-1115 or the Town Clerk’s Office at 203-341-1110.