First Selectwoman Jennifer Tooker presides at swearing-in ceremony for Fire Department’s recent promotions, second from the right: Fire Chief Michael Kronick, Deputy Fire Chief Nicholas Marsan and Fire Lieut. Theodore Crawford. / Contributed photo

WESTPORT — The town’s new fire chief and two other newly promoted firefighters were sworn in during a Town Hall ceremony Thursday.

Fire Chief Michael Kronick

Michael Kronick, a deputy chief who took over as the town’s fire chief Jan. 1 following the retirement of Robert Yost, was formally sworn in by First Selectwoman Jennifer Tooker.

The swearing-in ceremony also included Nicholas Marsan, promoted to the rank of deputy chief, and Theodore Crawford, promoted to lieutenant.

Kronick became a lieutenant with the Fire Department in 2009, and was promoted to deputy chief in October 2017.

He has been awarded the Edmund Duffy Unit Citation, the Chief Shippey and the Argenio awards for service to the department. 

Deputy Fire Chief Nicholas Marsan

Kronick serves on the Connecticut Incident Management Team and was instrumental in forming the Fairfield County Strike Team and Task Force system. He is a member of the Connecticut Interstate Fire Crew and has been on several national wildfire deployments in the West. 

Marsan, who joined the Fire Department in 2007, was promoted to fire inspector and assigned to the Fire Marshal’s Office for a year before being promoted to lieutenant. He served five years as an engine company lieutenant, most of which was spent at Station 4 in Saugatuck.

A veteran of the Army and the state’s Army National Guard, Marsan was deployed overseas in 2010 in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. He received the Army Commendation Medal for Valor during operations in Afghanistan and here at home has been the recipient of two Westport Rotary Public Protection and Safety Awards, and two-unit citations.

Fire Lieut. Theodore Crawford

Crawford, who joined the Fire Department in 2011, was assigned to Platoon 2 where he served 10 years. Since last March, he has been acting lieutenant for Platoon 4. He is an EMT, a rescue diver on the Westport police/fire dive team and hazardous materials technician on the Fairfield County Hazmat Team. He is the recipient of a Westport Rotary Public Protection and Safety Award, Firefighter Dominic Zeoli Award and two Unit Citations.

Tooker, in a statement issued Thursday, said, “I extend congratulations and best wishes to Nick Marsan and Ted Crawford on their well-deserved promotions. The hard work, dedication and achievements displayed by these men are a credit to their profession. 

“I have the utmost confidence that, along with Chief Mike Kronick, the Fire Department and the citizens of Westport are in extremely capable hands with this strong leadership team,” she added.